Changes to the Visa Waiver Program Will Protect Travelers

The United States began implementing changes under the "Visa Waiver Program Improvement and Terrorist Travel Prevention Act of 2015" (the Act). This act prohibits the following customer from travelling under Visa Waiver Program, and needs to apply for non-immigrant Visa.

  • Nationals of VWP countries who have traveled to or been present in Iran, Iraq, Sudan, Syria, Libya, Somalia, Yemen on and after March 1, 2011
  • Nationals of VWP countries who are also nationals of Iran, Iraq, Sudan, Syria

However, for those who have traveled to the area as official duty of an International organization,regional organizations and sub-national governments, Journalist for reporting purpose, legitimate business-related purpose to Iran and Iraq, may receive a waiver determined case by case. Any traveler that matches the above condition, please contact your nearest U.S. embassy or consulate.